TWAEA and JUAA Conducted the On-site Visit Evaluation of International Joint Accreditation Project in Japan


The "International Joint Accreditation Project between TWAEA and JUAA" was mutually promoted by Taiwan Assesssment and Evaluation Association (TWAEA) and Japan University Accreditation Association (JUAA) since 2018. The purpose of this joint accreditation project is to provide international certification services for universities in Taiwan and Japan that seek for global recognition and cooperation. Taiwan and Japan each had one university take part in the first phase of this project.

The reviewer team, composed of 3 experts from Taiwan and 2 experts from Japan, has undertaken the on-site evaluation of Akita International University on 22nd February, 2019. The evaluation process contained a briefing on the university, campus visit, interviews (with faculty, staff and students), and exchange of opinions. The whole evaluation activities were completed by TWAEA and JUAA, and were all conducted in English throughout the day.


The launch of "International Joint Accreditation Project" was a major milestone in the development of Taiwan and Japan's education evaluation, and it was also an important driving force for the cross-domain development and cooperation of the evaluation mechanism of both sides. For universities applying to the International Joint Accreditation Project, they will have the opportunity to gain recognition from international evaluation agencies. With the international certification, universities will also achieve a significant improvement in the implementation and promotion of international affairs.

TWAEA has worked hard to promote the professional knowledge and skill related to accreditation and also the provision of accreditation services. To enhance the quality in higher education is always the mission of TWAEA. In recent years, TWAEA not only has started to join the members of the international accreditation organizations, but also worked closely with professional associations in Japan, Thailand, Europe, Russia, New Zealand, Croatia, Hong Kong and Macau for further cooperation.